The Society Circle

The Society Circle was formed in 2003 to acknowledge our donors.

All individuals who donate to ARLIS/NA are automatically recognized via the Society Circle. Learn more about the donation levels and associated benefits ’on the Donate Now page.

Donate Now

Designated Funds Available 

  • $50k for 50 Years Fund
  • Conference Speakers Fund
  • Conference Speakers of Color Fund
  • Internship Fund
  • Travel Grant Fund
  • International Relations Study Tour Scholarship
  • Unrestricted Gifts to the Society
  • Unrestricted Gifts to the ARLIS/NA Annual Conference

Learn more about each fund on the Donate Now page.

Impact of Awards

Donations to ARLIS/NA have a direct impact on the careers of award recipients; past honorees attest to this. Contributions to awards are contributions to the future of the profession. Learn more from past awardees on how the awards, made possible through your support, impacted the professional careers of art information professionals.

Awardee Stories

Society Circle Members

ARLIS/NA acknowledges individual donors quarterly based on their cumulative donations in given calendar/fiscal year (January-December). ARLIS/NA acknowledges the following individuals for their generous support during the prior quarter or year to date by quarter.

Donors January 2023 - February 2023

Founder's Circle ($1,000+)

President's Circle ($500 - $999)

Sandra Brooke Gordon

Patron's Circle ($200 - $499)

Rebecca M. Price
Gabrielle vl Reed (In honor of Debbie Kempe)
Marilyn L. Russell
Heather E Topcik
Member's Circle ($100 - $199)
Meg Black
Jessica M Evans Brady
Lori Salmon
William Sean Connor
Kathleen E. Salomon (In memory of Joyce Pellerano Ludmer)
Kenneth Soehner
Amy Trendler

Contributor's Circle ($10 - $99)

Stephanie H Grimm

Past Founder's Circle Members

Those listed as past Founder's Circle members reflect those who donated $1,000 or more in a given calendar year.


A G Foundation (In honor of Milan R. Hughston) 

Joan M. Benedetti (In honor of Joan and Robert Benedetti)

Milan R. Hughston

Sherman Clarke (In memory of Patricia J. Sullivan) 

Gregory P. J. Most

Eileen Baker

Roger C. Lawson

Daniel A. Starr

Kathryn M. Wayne

Mark Pompelia (In honor of Rebecca M. Price)

ARLIS Upstate New York Chapter



Joan Benedetti (in honor of Joan and Robert Benedetti)

Sherman Clarke (in memory of Harlan Sifford)

Carole Ann Fabian

Edward C. Goodman

Milan R. Hughston

Deborah A. Kempe (in honor of Mark Pompelia and Gabrielle Reed)

Roger C. Lawson (in honor of Deborah Kempe)

Gregory P.J. Most

Lindy J. Narver

Mark Pompelia (in honor of Janine Henri)

Daniel A. Starr (in memory of Harlan Sifford)

William Stanton

Carol Terry

Lynda White

2019 - 2020

Joan Benedetti (in honor of Jon Evans)

Sherman Clarke (in memory of Williame Dane)

Milan Hugston

Roger Lawson

Kay Teel

Kathryn M. Wayne


Joan Benedetti

Sherman Clarke

Daniel Starr


Joan Benedetti

Sherman Clarke

Daniel Starr


Joan Benedetti

Sherman Clarke

Joan Benedetti

Sherman Clarke (in honor of Wittenborn



Joan Benedetti

Sherman Clarke (in honor of Wittenborn


Doris Freitag (in memory of Dr. Wolfgang M.



Joan Benedetti


Joan Benedetti


Joan Benedetti

William Dane


Joan Benedetti

Deborah Boudewyns


Joan Benedetti


Joan Benedetti

Wolfgang Freitag (In Honor of Pamela J. Parry)


Joan Benedetti


Nancy Allen (in honor of Caroline Backlund)

Joan Benedetti*

Deborah Ultan Boudewyns (Francis V. Gorman

Art Library Fund, University of Minnesota,

Wilson Library)


Joan Benedetti

Betty Jo Irvine (in honor of Indiana University

graduates specializing in Art and Visual

Resources Librarianship)