Samuel H. Kress Foundation Award for International Exchange

Thanks to the generosity of the Samuel H. Kress Foundation, the Art Libraries Society of North America offers a program to help fund international travel and promote the exchange of ideas and information among art librarians. Because most conferences including ARLIS/NA will be virtual this year, we are repurposing the funds for conference scholarships.

Exceptional art information professionals will receive awards of $150-$500 (USD) to underwrite conference registration and attend conferences virtually, thereby fostering communication and developing connections with international projects and initiatives.

There are two categories of awards:

  • For European librarians and art information professionals to attend the annual conference of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA).
  • For ARLIS/NA members to attend the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) Art Libraries Satellite Meeting or another European art library conference.

The generous grant from the Kress Foundation will allow ARLIS/NA to make multiple grants to conference participants

The application submission deadline is April 16, 2021. 

Apply Here

See List of Past Recipients

Samuel H. Kress Foundation Award for Intl Travel

Subcommittee of the Awards Committee.
Amy Trendler

Amy Trendler

Architecture Librarian


Heather Koopmans

Fine Arts Librarian


Lucy G Campbell



Elsa F Loftis

Humanities and Acquisitions Librarian


Beverly A. Mitchell

Assistant Director