Gerd Muehsam Award

Annual recognition for an outstanding graduate student paper or project relevant to art librarianship.

The Gerd Muehsam Award is given annually to recognize excellence in a graduate student paper or project on a topic relevant to art librarianship. This award was established to honor the memory of Gerd Muehsam (1913-1979), distinguished scholar, teacher, and art bibliographer, whose support of and dedication to ARLIS/NA was an inspiration to her colleagues and students.


Award Details
  • $500.00 prize.
  • Conference registration and up to $300.00 travel reimbursement to attend the ARLIS/NA Annual Conference. This amount may be used to reimburse travel expenses, but will not apply to meals, tours, or other costs.
  • An opportunity to present the winning paper at the conference as part of the New Voices in the Profession panel.
  • A one-year membership to ARLIS/NA.
  • The paper or project must have been created or written during the preceding 18 months by a student enrolled in an accredited graduate library program or in a graduate program in art history or a related discipline.
  • The paper or project must be in conjunction with a course assignment.
  • One submission is allowed per person.
Required Format

All applicants must include their mailing addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers with their applications.

Paper submissions must include:

  • 10-25 pages, typed, double-spaced on single sides of 8.5 x 11 inch paper.
  • An abstract of 250 words.
  • Title page must include a paper title, the name of the entrant and the institution attended, the name of the faculty member for whom it was written, and the course title.
  • Bibliography and footnotes should follow an accepted format, such as the Chicago Manual of Style or The Elements of Style by Strunk and White.
  • In addition, authors should inform the committee chair if their contribution has been published previously or is being considered for publication.

Internet project submissions must include:

  • A summary of 250 words about the online project.
  • URL—the project must be accessible to all committee members for review.
  • The name of the institution and course for which it was created, as well as the name of the faculty member assigning the project.
Judging Criteria

Papers and projects will be judged on their relevance to art librarianship or visual curatorship, depth of research and scholarship, quality of organization, appropriate use of terminology, style and readability, and originality of thought or observation.

Application & Deadline

Submission deadline is December 18, 2022.

Entries must be submitted by e-mail only. All applicants should receive notification of the results by January 20, 2023.

E-mail applications to the Chair, Student Advancement Awards Subcommittee.

Student Advancement Awards Subcommittee

Subcommittee of the Awards Committee.
Mackenzie Salisbury

Mackenzie Salisbury

Information Literacy Librarian


Giana Ricci

Giana Ricci

Librarian for the Fine Arts


Larry E Eames

Larry E Eames

Instruction Librarian


Virginia Seymour

Research and Instruction Librarian


Vada D Komistra

Library Acquisitions Associate


Sam Regal

Sam Regal

Reference and Instruction Librarian