Published 10/10/17

The 2017 Nominating Committee has announced the newly elected 2018 executive board members. They will join the executive board at the 2018 Membership Meeting to be held at the 46th Annual Conference in New York City, New York.

Statements and resumes may still be viewed on the ARLIS/NA website after logging in as a member.

Schwartz small

Vice President/President-Elect: Laura Schwartz

Laura Schwartz has been an art information professional for over twenty years. She is currently the Arts & Humanities Collection Coordinator and Visual Arts Librarian at the University of California San Diego. She previously served as the Head Librarian of the Fine Arts Library at The University of Texas at Austin. She has a Master’s degree in Art History and Master’s degree in Library and Information Science from the University of Texas at Austin and a Bachelor’s degree in Art History and Criticism from UC San Diego.  She previously served on the ARLIS/NA Executive Board as the South Regional Representative from 2002-2005 and she was the Programming Co-chair for the 33rd Annual Conference in Houston, Texas (2005). She has attended and presented at numerous conferences both in the United States and abroad. She is interested in art publishing and collections, library as place, special collections, and the digital humanities.

Litts small

Treasurer: Doug Litts

Doug Litts is the Executive Director of the Ryerson and Burnham Libraries and Archives at the Art Institute of Chicago. He has been a member of ARLIS/NA for twenty years and most recently served as the co-editor of ARLIS/NA Reviews (2009-2017) having edited over 50 editions. He was Moderator of the Museum Division (2011-2012) and served on the Program Committee for the 2014 Annual Conference held in Washington, DC. Doug was the host and an organizer of the 2016 IFLA Art Libraries Section Satellite Meeting held at the Art Institute and co-sponsored by ARLIS/NA. A longstanding member of the Mid-Atlantic chapter, he is now current a member of ARLIS/NA Midstates.   

Rackover small

Canadian Representative: Suzanne Rackover

Suzanne Rackover is University Librarian at Emily Carr University of Art + Design in Vancouver, British Columbia. Previously she held the position of Manager of Library and Archives at The Banff Centre. Suzanne has served as Chair of the Northwest Chapter and the Northwest representative for ARLIS Canada. Her additional ARLIS/NA service includes roles on the Development Committee, Research Awards Committee, and the Wolfgang M. Feitag Internship Award Committee, as well as contributing to the implementation team for the ARLIS/NA + VRA Joint Conference in Seattle. Suzanne holds a Master of Library and Information Studies from McGill University in Montreal and a Bachelor and Master in Art History from Concordia University in Montreal. 

The Committee thanks members that self-nominated and nominated a colleague. They had an excellent response to the call to serve this year and hopes this level of interest continues into the future. Special thanks goes to Gregg Most, 2017 Nominating Committee Chair, and Eumie Imm Stroukoff for their guidance.

Congratulations to the new Board members.

The 2017 Nominating Committee Members

Gregory P. J. Most, Chair
Laurel Bliss
Jon Evans
Sylvia Roberts