Since its founding in 1972, the Art Libraries Society of North America has become the leading association for art information professionals in the world. It has grown into a dynamic organization numbering over 1,100 art and architecture librarians, visual resource professionals, publishers, educators, curators and others interested in visual arts information.

Maintaining the Society's position as the leader in the field requires an ongoing commitment. Our mission is to train new art information professionals, provide assistance with research, publish material relevant to the field, and present diverse speakers at conferences in order to enhance the knowledge of our members. To help meet these goals, the Society Circle was formed in 2003 to serve as the Society's fundraising organization. Donations to the Society Circle can be targeted toward four existing funds - the Conference Speakers Fund, the Internship Fund, the Alternative Voices Speakers Fund, the Travel Grant Fund, or can be unrestricted and used wherever the need is greatest.

Joining the Circle

We invite your annual gift to The Society Circle at the following levels: 

Founder's Circle - Gifts of $1,000 and above
  • Donors are acknowledged during the Convocation at the Annual Conference
  • Includes Patron Circle and President's Circle acknowledgements
President's Circle - Gifts of $500 - $999
  • Includes Patron Circle acknowledgements
Patron Circle - Gifts of $200 - $499
  • Donors will be acknowledged on the ARLIS/NA website and in Art Documentation
Members Circle - Gifts of $100 - $199
  • Donors receive a Society Circle lapel pin and acknowledgement via a Society Circle ribbon at the annual conference
  • Donors are invited to the Society Circle Reception with the President during the Annual Conference
Other Contributions - gifts of less than $100
  • Acknowledgement of gift

2015-2016 Society Circle Members

(September 2015 - August 2016)

Founder's Circle

Joan Benedetti

Sherman Clarke

President's Circle

Sandra Ludig Brooke
Janis K. Ekdahl (In memory of Wolfgang Freitag)
Carole Ann Fabian
Edward Goodman
Kristen Kern (In memory of Mary Ausplund Tooze)
Roger C. Lawson

Gregory P. J. Most
Lindy Narver
Kristen Regina
Daniel A. Starr
Peter A. Stern
Ann B. Whiteside

Patron's Circle

Jeanne Brown
Jane A. Carlin (In honor of Betty Jo Irvine and Eileen Fry)
Susan A. Davi
Kathy S. Edwards
Jon W. Evans (In honor of Joan Benedetti)
Shalimar Abigail Fojas White
Milan R. Hughston (In memory of Lois Swan Jones and in honor of Sherman Clarke)
Deborah A. Kempe
Dan Lipcan
Amy E. Lucker

Martha Mahard (In memory of Wolfgang Freitag)
Elizabeth M. O'Keefe
Nancy Pistorius (In memory of Judith Hoffberg)
Faith Pleasanton (In memory of Kirk Varnedoe)
Mark Pomeplia (In memory of Robert Scott Brooks)
Ann Roll
Marilyn Russell
Deborah Smedstad
Sandra J. Still
Carol S. Terry
Kathy J. Woodrell

Members of the Circle

Cindy D. Abel Morris
Robert Adams
Rachel Beckwith
Peter Blank
Amanda Bowen
Marilyn Carbonell (in honor of Susan Craig)
Sarah C. Carter (in honor of Betty Jo Irvine)
Amy N. Ciccone
Kimberly (Kim) Collins
Ross Day (In memory of Allan D. Chapman)
Jolene Marie de Verges
Samantha Deutch
Deirdre Donohue
Judy Dyki
E. Lee L. Eltzroth (In honor of Harlan L. Sifford)
Margaret English
Susan J. Flanagan
Suzy Frechette (In honor of Susan V. Craig)
Rebecca K. Friedman
Paula B. Gabbard
Jennifer Garland
Heather Gendron
Kay Glenday (In honor of Caroline H. Backlund)
Carol H. Graney (In memory of Barbara Sevy)
V. Heidi Hass
Holly Hatheway
Janine J. Henri
Valerie Hoyt
Eumie Imm Stroukoff
Trudy B. Jacoby (In memory of Howard Karno)
Lindsay M. King
Clayton Carroll Kirking
Eric Kline
Andreas Knab
Lynette Korenic (In memory of William C. Bunce)
Rodica Tanjala L. Krauss
Catherine R. Larking (in honor of Christine Sundt)
Deirdre Lawrence

Susan Lewis
Cara A. List
Sarah Long
Martha S. Maier
Eileen Markson
Laurence McGilvery
Richard Minsky (In memory of Judith Hoffberg)
Susan M. Moon (In memory of James A. Findlay)
Darin Murphy
Lindy Narver (In honor of Caroline H. Backlund)
Nancy Norris
Maria Oldal
Elizabeth Peck Learned
Christina K. Peter
Henry A. Pisciotta
Elizabeth (Lily) A. Pregill
Jet Prendeville
Suzanne Rackover
Barbara Reed
Gabrielle Reed
Alyssa G. Resnick (In memory of Carol J. Resnick)
Sylvia Roberts
Kathleen E. Salomon
Frances Y. Scott (In honor of William Dane)
Susan Sheiner
Suzanna B. Simor (In honor of Ken Soehner)
Heather Slania
Christine Sundt
Edward H. Teague (In memory of Jeff and Janet Teague)
Darlene I. Tong
Liv Valmestad
Lee B. Viverette
Kathryn Wayne
Margaret N. Webster
Michael Weintraub (In memory of Istvan Rozsics)
Tony White (In honor of Betty Jo Irvine)
Lynda White
Floyd M. Zula (In memory of Ella Y. Ward)

Past Founder's Circle Members


Joan Benedetti
Sherman Clarke


Joan Benedetti
Sherman Clarke (in honor of Wittenborn Books)


Joan Benedetti
Sherman Clarke (in honor of Wittenborn Books)
Doris Freitag (in memory of Dr. Wolfgang M. Freitag)


Joan Benedetti


Joan Benedetti 


Joan Benedetti
William Dane 


Joan Benedetti
Deborah Boudewyns 


Joan Benedetti 


Joan Benedetti
Wolfgang Freitag (In Honor of Pamela J. Parry)


Joan Benedetti 


Nancy Allen (in honor of Caroline Backlund)
Joan Benedetti*
Deborah Ultan Boudewyns (Francis V. Gorman Art Library Fund, University of Minnesota, Wilson Library) 


Joan Benedetti
Deborah Ultan Boudewyns (in honor of Indiana University graduates specializing in Art and Visual Resources Librarianship)